San Miguel Beermen is the 2014 Philippine Cup Champion

Posted on Updated on

The San Miguel Beermen won the Game 7 of the Philippine Cup championship, but not without a scare from the Aces. The Beermen were shooting hot from the outside from the start of the game and were up by as much as 23 points in the 2nd quarter.

After the first half the Beermen outscored the Aces 48 to 27 and also out-rebounded them 26 to 14.
At the start of the third quarter, Alaska Aces intensified their defense by putting up a full court press. Abueva started the Aces’ run by 6 consecutive points. At the end of the 3rd the aces were only down by three after a 32 to 14 run.
Which seems to be another amazing comeback from the Aces, Game was tied at 68 in the 6 minute mark of the 4th, and the aces eventually took the lead with less than 6 minutes left of the game.
The Aces were up, 76-72 at the 2 minute and 47 second mark.
Tubid drained a 2 pointer after a missed 3 point shot from Lassiter, giving only Alaska a 2 point lead entering the last 2 minutes of the game.
Sonny Thoss answered, giving Alaska a 4-point lead. Thoss gave up a foul at the other end of the court giving 2 free throws to Chris Lutz with 1:15 seconds left.
Casio missed a 3-pointer giving SMB a chance to tie the game or even take the lead.
Arwind Santos nailed the shot of the game, a 3 pointer which gave the beermen the lead with 43.7 seconds left.
SMB needing a stop, Arwind Santos grabbed a rebound after a missed attempt from Sonny Thoss.
Cabagnot calls SMB’s last time out in 19.9 second mark. Casio fouled Arwind after the inbound. Arwind splits two free throws.
Abueva missed 2 shots, then SMB was slapped with a technical foul after Ronald Tubid called an illegal timeout after the Abueva miss.
Hontiveros was unable to drain the technical free throw.
With 2.8 seconds left in the game, Beermen ahead by two, 80 to 78, a jumpball was called between Fajardo and Abueva after a scrambled inbound from Lutz.
The Beast won the jump and the ball went to Casio’s hand, with Tubid defending, Casio was not able to sink the last shot of the game giving coach Leo Austria’s 1st PBA championship and the Beermen’s 5th All Filipino crown.
The Beermen last won the prestigious cup in 2001.
Arwind Santos was named the Finals MVP finishing the game with 21 points.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s